# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Astro*Dictionary by Michael Erlewine





1 article for "Islamic Calendar"

Islamic Calendar [Astro*Index]

The Islamic calendar (Hijri calendar) consists of 12 months similar to the Gregorian calendar. Is a lunar calendar consisting of 12 lunar months, however, it consists of 354-355 days unlike the 365-366 days in the regular calendar. It is used to determine the proper days of Islamic holidays and rituals. The Islamic New Year starts off with Muharram followed by Safar, Rabi al-awwal, Rabi al-Thani, Jumada al-awwal, Jumada al-Thani, Rajab, Shaban, Ramadan, Shawwal, Dhul Qadah and Dhul Hijja.

See also:
♦ Gregorian Calendar ♦ Indian Calendar


Astro*Index Copyright © 1997 Michael Erlewine