Visual Astrology [ Back to Visual Astrology ]



Constellations Above and Below the Ecliptic


In fact, this great plane divides all of the universe in two sections or hemispheres containing those constellations of stars above (north) the zodiac plane and those constellations of stars below (south) this plane. The ecliptic plane is also commonly divided into twelve equal 30° sections, the signs of the zodiac. We will ignore for now the argument as to whether the 12 signs of the zodiac fit the star constellations bearing their names. Of the 89 common constellations, these 12 zodiac signs have received very much more attention than the remaining 77 or so other constellation that are scattered about, above and below the ecliptic plane (see Figure C.).


Constellations Above and Below the Ecliptic



© Copyright © 1997 Michael Erlewine








Popular Software

Win*Star 6.0 Win*Star 6.0

Blue*Star Blue*Star